Polo de Haas quartet

<< back to overview


Gliss MP3 453Kb

Two To Tango MP3 662Kb

Artist website: http://polodehaas.com/

The pianist Polo de Haas was born in Amsterdam. He studied with Jan Odé at the Amsterdam Conservatoire and subsequently with Eduardo del Pueyo in Brussels and Jacques Février in Paris. He obtained his soloist diploma cum laude and won many awards such as the Silver Wreath of the Friends of the Concertgebouw and, in 1962, First Prize at the Amsterdam International Piano Competition. He has performed with virtually every Dutch Orchestra, including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under the baton of Bernard Haitink. He has also given recitals in most West as well as East European countries, the United States, Canada, Korea, Cuba and Japan, and has made numerous recordings for both radio and television. Polo de Haas is both a classical musician and improviser as well as leading exponent of contemporary music. He also has a number of compositions to his name. Partnering bass clarinettist Harry Sparnaay in the Duo Fusion Moderne (Gaudeamus Duo Prize 1972), he gives concerts at modern music festivals all over the world. Polo de Haas specialises in the music of the Dutch composer Simeon ten Holt: a compact disc recording of 'Canto Ostinato' by Ten Holt, made together with fellow Dutch pianist Kees Wieringa, was acclaimed by the international press. In the words of the US journal Fanfare, "It's the pianists that really dazzle." (Golden CD Award in 2001) For his services to Dutch music, Polo de Haas was awarded a Knighthood in the Order of the Netherlands Lion.

Timeless records: SJP384

POLO DE HAAS, piano;

Track Listing:

  • Soolman (Polo de Haas) 6:41
  • Bo Bip (Polo de Haas) 5:32
  • Bela (Polo de Haas) 5:21
  • PoloSolo (Polo de Haas) 5:53
  • Irish Ballad (traditional) 3:37
  • Roti (Polo de Haas) 7:28
  • Changing Opinions/Cathy (Leoni Jansen, Polo de Haas, Paul Simon) 6:23
  • Gliss (Pierre Courbois) 3:33
  • Slightly Frustrating (Pierre Courbois, Peter Krijnen) 6:34
  • Contra (Egon Kracht) 6:43
  • Song of a Bitch (Polo de Haas) 4:30
  • Two to Tango (Leoni Jansen, Rob Crispijn) 3:31
  • 13. Dear Old Stockholm (traditional) 4:36

Total time 70:22

Recording Date
II, 12 JUNE 1991
Mixing Data:19, 20 September 1991
at M.M.P., Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Engineered by Manuel Cooymans